NLRSD Educators Named Teacher of the Year

Meredith Moore is 2021-2022 Teacher of the Year

Chancis Banks, Copy Editor

On November 19, 2021, several teachers in the North Little Rock School District were recognized for their exceptional contributions to their school. The teachers awarded at North Little Rock High School include math teacher and Student Council sponsor Cassie Rogers, science teacher and Beta club sponsor Meredith Moore, math instructor Diana Daniels, and English instructor Laura Kelty. 

These teachers are thrilled to be selected for this distinction, Moore stated “I am so excited and honored to be chosen, I am happy to represent my department”. 

The teachers were selected by their peers who voted for colleagues who best represent their school. Daniels was pleasantly surprised that she was picked. She stated, “Winning teacher of the year for me was unexpected and I always tell others I do what I do because I love it. I love working with students so it’s natural, it’s a natural thing for me.” 

These teachers have consistently overcome challenges due to the current pandemic. When asked what the challenges are of teaching in such a complex situation, Kelty replied, “The main way that I survived the pandemic was to understand that everyone is dealing with things in their own way and give them their own grace!”

Rogers added, “Last year we had to teach virtually and in-person so that was challenging in and of itself. Learning all of the virtual situations was not fun, but I can say that now that we have had a full year of basically doing virtual things this year has been easier.” 

All educators who were recognized will be honored at a ceremony that will take place in April 2022.

Diana Daniels is the 21-22 Teacher of the Year.
Laura Kelty is the 21-22 Teacher of the Year.
Cassie Rogers is the 21-22 Teacher of the Year.
Meredith Moore is 2021-2022 Teacher of the Year